Share your story with us and you could be featured on this site.  Share now!

Botswana Government

Botswana President

The president of Botswana is both head of state and government.

The current president of Botswana is Dr. Mokgweetsi Eric Masisi. He took over the presidency on 1st April 2018 when Ian Khama Seretse Khama stepped down.

Central and Local government

The central government made of Ministries has executive powers within the Botswana's governance structure. It is the principal authority in developing and driving Botswana's socio-economic and cultural policies and programmes.

The local government falls within the Ministry of Local Government which has 5 town councils and 9 district councils. The District Commissioners who head the district councils, play an administrative role, and are assisted by elected and nominated councillors and district development committees.

Return to Botswana page

Return to KnowBotswana homepage

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.
[?]Subscribe To This Site
  • follow us in feedly
  • Add to My Yahoo!